Alabama’s Brandon Miller named top SEC player by coaches, AP

Alabama New brandon millerwho has had a tremendous season on the court in the midst of controversy In addition, there is an Associated Press Player of the Year and Newcomer of the Year in the SEC.

AP released results a day after Miller announced As the winner of the SEC’s Player of the Year and Freshman of the Year awards, as voted for by the league’s 14 coaches.

Miller was a first-team selection on all but one AP ballot and received 12 of a possible 14 player of the year votes and 11 as the top newcomer for the regular-season SEC champion and No. 4-ranked Crimson Tide .

The 6-foot-9 forward is only the fourth freshman in the last 50 years to lead the SEC in scoring, averaging 19.6 points along with 8.0 rebounds. He also topped 3-pointers made, making 92 and hitting at a rate of 40.4%.

Texas A&M’s Buzz Williams was named coach of the year on Tuesday by the AP in a poll by 14 reporters covering the SEC.

Texas A&M guard Wade Taylor IV And Kentucky Ahead oscar tshebwe, the previous year’s national player of the year, was a unanimous AP first-team selection. There are other first-team selections Missouri guard / forward kobe ​​brown And Mississippi State Ahead tolu smith,

Miller’s name has now come up in court testimony in connection with the murder of former teammate Darius Miles and another man. Jamia Harris, 23, shot dead Near campus.

A police officer testified that Miles asked Miller to bring Miles’ gun in the early morning hours of January 15. Jaden Bradley was also at the scene. There has been no initiation nor allegation of any crime. The university has named Miller a supporting witness, not a suspect.

The day after that testimony, Miller scored 41 points and hit the game-winning shot in overtime to defeat South Carolina amid derision from Gamecocks fans. Afterwards, Alabama coach Nate Oates called Miller “one of the most mentally tough kids I’ve ever coached”.

Aggies Taylor also received two votes as Player of the Year. lsu forward kj williams and the Arkansas Guard Ricky Council IV And Anthony Black Each received a vote for Newcomer of the Year.

Buzz Williams received eight votes, Dennis Gates of Missouri received five and Oates of Alabama received one vote in the Coach of the Year balloting.

The second team of players included Council, Tennessee guard jakai zigglerKJ Williams, Florida forward Colin Castleton and vanderbilt forward liam robbins,

This report used information from The Associated Press.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button